The immediate aftermath

Straight from the pitch, I went to A&E at University Hospital Birmingham, and was seen within an hour by a good doctor. I told him what had happened and what I thought I’d done, and after a couple of tests he confirmed that I had ruptured my achilles tendon. I had an x-ray, put in a temporary plaster and was sent away with crutches. All in all, I was there for about 1 1/2 hours, and apart from the miserable service at reception I was mildly happy with the treatment so far.

It didn’t feel that painful at this stage as the natural adrenaline was keeping me going, and I didn’t take any painkillers at all on the Sunday evening. It was tough to sleep because of the adrenaline and the shock of the injury too.

Leave a Reply

