The Waiting Game

That brings us to today – Wednesday 11th April, the day I decided to start this blog.

Today has been the worst day so far – Tuesday was painful, and with keeping my leg elevated there is a build-up of blood that rushes down to my ankle and my foot every time I stand up on my crutches, which hurts. I’ve been taking Ibuprofen to kill some of the pain, which seems to work OK. Today, Wednesday, this pain has been exacerbated a bit further, and the boredom of daytime TV and Facebook has kicked in! I’ve had lots of well wishes from family and friends which is great, and just about keeping me going at the moment.

The reason today has been particularly bad is the ultrasound news. My partner works for the hospital and so went to ask how long I can expect to have to wait for an ultrasound scan. Having read about people’s experiences online I assumed this would be a couple of days, with most people having surgery within a couple of weeks. She was told there is currently a 6-week wait for scans!

This obviously led to a lot of stress, for both of us, so I decided to give the hospital a call. After ringing for 3 hours, to a variety of different numbers and being put through to various different people (all in the wrong departments, or in most cases ringing out/dead lines), I eventually got through to the nursing station at the fracture clinic where I was on Monday. The nurse who answered was very helpful and reassuring, and as soon as I mentioned the scan waiting list she said that for an achilles injury, scans should be within 48-72 hours. This was such a relief after thinking all day that it was going to be 8 weeks before an operation, by which point the tendons will be a right mess. I left my details and as I write am awaiting a call back to say when my ultrasound scan will be. After this I’m hoping that they will operate within a week or two, so that I can start the long road to recovery and physio. If I hadn’t have been able to get through to this nurse today, who knows where my record would have gone and how long I’d have been left to wait. Here’s hoping…

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

