4 Weeks Post-Operation

Went back to the hospital today for my 4-week post op appointment. Had to wait around for a good 2 and a half hours before I eventually got seen, and it took about 10 minutes to remove the old cast, move my foot up to ‘plantar grade’ (pretty much as far as it will go) and put the new cast on. Again, it hurt, but probably not as much as last time as it was half way there already. My leg is definitely starting to waste away now, I’ve not seen it as thin since I was about 11 years old, and my foot is very dry and a bit horrible by the looks of it.

I go back on 24th May now for my next appointment (the 28th, in 2 weeks time when I should be going, was full). That’s when I’ll get the air cast boot hopefully, and can start bearing some weight on my foot which will be nice. I should be able to have a shower then too – YES! I’ve had a bath every day for 5 weeks, and it’s a bloody pain! Don’t think I’ll be able to drive with the boot and will still need to use crutches for the 6 weeks that I have it, but hopefully will be able to rely on the sticks less as time goes on.

3 thoughts on “4 Weeks Post-Operation

  1. tim says:

    I really, really, really hate casts. What are doctors looking for specifically when determining timelines? I’ve read dozens of blogs where people are put into a walking boot within the frist 4 weeks post-op, with no problems at all. I have my 2 week post-op appointment tomorrow and I’m going to beg for an accelerated road to a walking boot. The last recovery blog I read had a guy who received a boot on day 13 post-op and was already comfortable and healthy enough to limp around without it by day 36. I just dont see a point in being immobilized for the sake of being immobilized.

    • tim says:

      Well no luck! Despite my begging, my doc is not going to change his protocol. I wont be getting a boot until im 6 weeks post op. I think that’s 2 weeks too long, but I spend so much time fighting myself mentally that I dont have the energy or patience to fight the doc’s orders too. Happy healing!

  2. Justine turner fonne says:

    Hi Tim
    I think it’s two weeks too long to. Here in Norway got my walking boot week 4 and had angle adjustment yesterday. Things are looking good! Also given me a new exercise : toes on floor and lift up heel. Boot off on 13 June. Justine

Leave a Reply

