21 Weeks Post-Op – Getting There

Many apologies for not posting for ages – being back at work and able to walk again has meant I’ve been pretty busy!

I’m now 21 weeks post-op, and the physio seems to be going pretty well. I’m seeing her every one or two weeks dependent on dates available, and the key exercises I’ve been doing whilst there include:

Calf and heel raises, including on one leg, wearing weights jacket and reaching as high as possible on the wall
Same as above on the edge of a step to stretch out achilles
Walking on tiptoes
Light jogging on trampoline
Exercise bike and cross trainer

Outside of the hospital gym, I’ve been walking a lot and seem to pretty much walk without a limp most of the time, and have finally got round to using my new bike a few times too. I’ve also been swimming a few times which is good all-round cardio exercise. I’ve done the same exercises as above at home nearly every day, with one or two exceptions when I’ve been having a particularly painful day. After the first couple of gym sessions, I couldn’t do much the next day as it hurt so much. I thought it’s probably good to feel a bit of pain as it means things are starting to work again.

The physio said that things are going well and that I’m slightly ahead of schedule. It’s just a long process of building my calf muscle back up to full strength and gradually stretching out the achilles too.

I’ve been back at work since 9th July, and they’ve been good in allowing me time off to see the physio, and with patience when it takes me ages to get to meetings! I can walk to the hospital from where I work so that’s a plus point. The first couple of weeks were hard work after 13 weeks off, and whilst still wearing the aircast boot I was a little slow getting around. It was good to be back and now I have adapted back to the routine things are going well again.

Since I last posted, I’ve also been on my stag do! I’m not getting married until March next year, but I wanted to go to Kendal Calling which is held in July, so we had to go a little early. I had a great time (20 of us went all together), although it was probably a little too soon after my injury in some ways. I had to sit down and watch bands a lot of the time, and getting around muddy fields in an aircast boot is pretty difficult. The toilets were pretty disgusting too, as is standard for UK festivals, and camping was occasionally grim! Everyone was really good to me and looked after me, and overall I had a really good laugh – anything beats sitting around at home. We saw James, Maximo Park, DJ Yoda, Tribes, Shed Seven, Feeder, We Are Scientists, Dodgy, and Inspiral Carpets amongst others, so there was a bit of a 90’s vibe going on.

Yesterday I came back from another festival, Bestival, which was brilliant. This one was much bigger than Kendal, and I went with the girlfriend this time. We booked a B&B (she doesn’t do camping) and stopped for a couple of extra nights before the festival to turn it into a bit of a holiday after missing out earlier in the year on our trip to Devon. The weather was ace and we managed to get on the beach most mornings before heading over to the festival. We saw loads of bands including De La Soul, Sister Sledge, Roots Manuva, Alabama Shakes, Greg Wilson, Michael Kiwanuka, Sigur Ros, The XX, Earth Wind & Fire, Ben Howard, Two Door Cinema Club, New Order and the one and only Little Stevie Wonder! He has the best voice I’ve ever heard, even at the age of 62, and his set was peerless. This one included lots of walking, so hopefully the physio will say I’ve reaped the benefits of this when I next go on Thursday and won’t worry too much about the beers I’ve had…

6 thoughts on “21 Weeks Post-Op – Getting There

  1. John Hinchin says:

    Adam, have just come across your blog and pleased that you are recovering well. Your explanation of the actual injury and how it occured was exactly the same as me 12 years ago. I was playing 5 aside and felt as though someone had come through the back of me but there was no one there. Anyway the upshot was I had the traditional op the next day and went through the same process that you are going through (although I received 3 different casts when the foot needed to be moved up) rather than being moved to a boot. The reason I’m writing is that I noticed you commented that you couldn’t see yourself playing football again. It’s natural I guess when you have a major injury to feel this way. I did too. I was 32 at the time and felt that I wouldn’t play again but that I’d had a good run. However, after getting on a bike and doing other strenghtening exercises I went back to playing a year after my op. Tentatively at first but then in time I was nearly back to normal. You never quite get the muscle back in your calf but you will certainly be able to play again. I’m 44 now and since the injury I’ve played for 3 11 aside teams and constantly playing 5 aside. I’ve only stopped now as I’ve managed to partially tear my other achilles and am now in a boot for 3 months (no surgery). I fully intend to go back playing when this thing comes off. Keep positive. Especially as you have youth on your side. You’ll be back out there I’m sure.
    All the best

    John

  2. Brian says:

    Hi there,

    I am currently recovering from an Achilles rupture. I was reading over your blog and was wondering if you were interested in comparing notes, as I see that you had surgery to repair yours, and spent several weeks away from work. I’m also wondering on your plans for future activities.

  3. Maria says:

    Hi Folks

    Im one week into a rupture and found the blog interesting. I am worried as surgery for repair was not presented as an option. Post code lottery I wonder or do they think its a waste of resources for a 40 something female? I did explain that I was fairly active, loved to ski, ran occasionally etc and wanted the best option to return to full fitness. Discussed increased rerupture odds surgery v conservative treatment etc with him but he dismissed surgery and indicated that plaster would be as effective. Its not exactly what I am reading online. Am I right to be concerned? No scan, just wholloped me in plaster! and sent me home!

    • Brian says:

      Hi,

      I was also not operated on, as my doctor says that it is unnecessary. I was also not put in a plaster cast, but rather one of the removable and expensive Aircast boots.

      I am 9 months in to my rupture. If you have any questions email me: brian86mcss@hotmail.com

  4. Fiona says:

    Hi, I ruptured my achilles tendon on the dance floor. Not a surprise to people who know me as I have sprained my ankle many times due to my individual dance style. What’s worse I was at my 25th school re-union. My rupture was at calf level and I was told that surgery was not an option as it would be like stitching tissue paper with the muscle around the tendon. I was hoping for surgery what with the worry of re-rupture and all. However I am now 16 weeks post rupture, I had 3 plaster casts and an open cast (boot) and even though it is a very slow process and I am only back behind the wheel now, my recovery has gone really well. Good physio therapy is the key. After four weeks without the open cast I was confident to walk a few miles with just the one crutch. I am now free of any walking aid and though I know I have to build up my muscle to it’s former glory (no more pogo dancing) I feel that my my leg is at about 70% capacity. Non operative treatment definitely worked for me. Great site, impressed that you went to Bestival with a boot!! You’ve given me confidence about camping again. Where there is a will there is definitely a way.

  5. Maria says:

    Thanks Fiona and Brian for your updates. There is light at the end of this annoying blinking tunnel then. Hope you dont have to give up pogo dancing tho Fiona, that would be a tragedy! All the best Maria

Leave a Reply

