Over A Year On…

Well it’s been a long while since I last posted on this blog, but thought I would give a quick update for those that still visit. It’s over a year now since I first snapped my Achilles, and all I can say to people who are reading and are at the early stages of their injury – it does get better!

I’m still visiting my physiotherapist approximately once a month as I’m still building up my calf muscle to full strength. She’s been great throughout, and whilst there have been a couple of setbacks along the way, overall I’m happy with the rate of my recovery. I knew it would be around 18 months if not longer before I played football again, and I still think it will be. I can run again now, and am using an app called ‘Run 10k’ (there are lots around) to build my stamina back up and to improve my calf strength, as well as training towards a 10k over 13 weeks – a distance I would never have ran before my injury.

At the moment on a weights machine I can push my body weight through my injured leg, but need to be able to do about twice my body weight before the physio will sign me off. Running is really helping me feel normal again though, and varying the speeds is helping me to get some of the spring back in my leg too. Other physio activities I still do include hopping, skipping (embarrassing), cycling and walking. It may seem like it’s been a long time, but since coming out of the boot 10 months ago I’ve been determined to do it the right way, and the right way for me was to take it slowly. The achilles itself doesn’t hurt at all, apart from being tighter and thicker than the other one, but that’s always going to be the case and it’s not really noticeable to the naked eye. Scars are starting to fade too and they again can’t really be noticed.

I feel like this time next year I’ll be able to play football again, and for those of you that have read my earlier comments, I was a bit more sceptical about ever playing again.

Since I last posted I have also got married – she said yes – and on Monday I start a new job covering my boss’ maternity leave, which I’m looking forward to. So 2013 is definitely looking better than 2012, and I’m looking forward to a delayed honeymoon in September too!

8 thoughts on “Over A Year On…

  1. James Badham says:

    really enjoyed as feeling very low and have tried to over do it a bit over the last couple of days I came out of cast 8 days ago and have a boot and have just removed 1 wedge! very partial weight bearing but didn’t know at what point I should be at so tried a bit to much weight earlier and nearly caused a set back! now I know to slow down..what I cant seem to find out is how peoples feet feel at the point I am at..it is still very swollen around the heal and calf..very tight at back..stretching toes feels very tingly underneath…basically allsorts of strange tingles and sensations throughout the foot..is this normal??

    • adamagore says:

      Completely normal – it will still be swollen and tight for a long time yet. It is still healing at the moment – when you start to see a physiotherapist they will start off by getting rid of some of the stiffness and getting movement back, followed after a while by some stretching, and then working on building back up to full strength. Better to take it slowly and do it properly. Whilst in the boot I wouldn’t put too much weight on it, it can all be done once you’re out of the boot.

  2. Brian says:

    Hi,
    Just wondering if you still have any swelling or pain at all? My tendon doesn’t ever hurt, but the rest of my foot does. Quite often. The bottom of my foot feels on fire sometimes. And sometimes the back of my foot, where the tendon is, feels numb. I don’t have a lot of feeling down there. And I swell up quite a lot. It hasn’t really ever gone down. I can go for a walk and it’s swollen, sit around for a while and it’s swollen. It’s very bizarre.

    • adamagore says:

      Hi Brian

      Apologies for delay. Sounds strange that it’s still swelling up. How long has it been since your injury? I’m approx. 18 months now, and it doesn’t swell up, and rarely hurts any more. Very occasionally I feel a slight pain but that could just be me being over sensitive now. The only thing I’m affected by now is that my calf has never really recovered the muscle yet. Since my physio signed me off, I’ve been a little lazy so probably need to start up again. If it keeps swelling up it might be worth going back to your doctor.

      • Brian says:

        Hi Adam,
        I’m at 18-19 months now aswell. And I hear you on the weak calf muscle… Still in that boat myself.
        The injured tendon feels double the size of the uninjured one

  3. James says:

    Hi All,
    I had a partial achilles tear 1 year ago and am in the same boat, except for that i went with the non-surgical approach. I can run, lift myself up on the injured foot (What a great feeling) the calf muscle is the only thing that doesn’t feel normal yet. Likewise the injured tendon is about twice the other. I was targeting 18 month to feel “normal”, but judging by your comments, it will take the calf muscle longer to get back to that normal feeling. Thanks for the post.

  4. Jay says:

    Thanks for sharing, Tore mine in July playing ball. It’s been 22 weeks since surgery and I’ve been very discouraged. Your last blog makes me feel better.

    • Brian says:

      Hang in there! I see this was posted 7 months ago or so, so hopefully you’re feeling better. I just passed the three year mark. the ankle isn’t as good as before the injury, but it’s close. I have given up all sports. No desire to go through this again!!

Leave a Reply

